ACQL Barbara Godard Prize

The ACQL Barbara Godard Prize for Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar

The relationship between Canadian Literature and the ALCQ-ACQL dates back to 1983 when we became the first and only English-language journal to win their Gabrielle Roy Prize. Since then, a number of Gabrielle Roy Prize winners have been featured in, or involved with, Canadian Literature. Smaro Kamboureli, Louise Ladouceur, Roxanne Rimstead, Patricia Smart, and David Williams have all served on our editorial board.

We are pleased to present the winning papers of the  ACQL-ALCQ Barbara Godard Prize for Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar. These papers will be published on our website. Some of these papers will also appear in Canadian Literature.


From the ALCQ-ACQL Website

In order to encourage new directions in research, ACQL decided in May 2005 to offer an annual prize for the best paper presented at the annual conference by an emerging scholar. In 2010, the prize was renamed in honour of the late Barbara Godard, a well-respected Canadian literary scholar who was strongly involved with ACQL since its inception and was especially dedicated to her students.

To be considered, applicants must:

  • be an MA or PhD student or postdoctoral researcher in a Canadian university;
  • be a member of ACQL;
  • submit a proposal for a paper to the annual conference;
  • submit a written copy of the paper no later than two weeks before the conference.

The judging committee will be formed by ACQL.

Judging will be based on the written paper and, for the finalists, the oral presentation. The principal criteria of judgment will be:

  • originality of the subject;
  • innovation and impact of the research in the discipline;
  • clarity of communication.

The winner of the prize will receive a selection of books, and a subscription to Canadian Literature. By special arrangement, Canadian Literature has agreed to send the paper for review, and to post it on the journal’s website.

Le Prix ALCQ Barbara-Godard de la meilleure communication par un-e jeune chercheur-e

Par le site-web ALCQ-ACQL

L’ALCQ inaugurait en 2005 la remise du Prix de la meilleure communication par un-e jeune chercheur-e lors du colloque annuel. Le prix sera remis à la communication jugée la meilleure prononcée par les participant-e-s poursuivant des études de 2e ou 3e cycle ou accomplissant une recherche postdoctorale. En 2010, le prix a été renommé en l’honneur de Barbara Godard, éminente spécialiste canadienne des études littéraires, qui a été fortement impliquée dans l’ALCQ dès sa fondation et qui était particulièrement dévouée envers ses étudiants.

Condition d’admissibilité:

  • être étudiant-e de 2e ou 3e cycle ou stagiaire postdoctoral dans une université canadienne;
  • être membre de l’ALCQ;
  • soumettre une proposition de communication pour le colloque annuel;
  • remettre une copie écrite de sa communication au moins deux semaines avant la conférence.

Le comité d’évaluation sera formé par l’ALCQ.

L’évaluation sera fondée sur la communication écrite et, pour les finalistes, la présentation orale. Les principaux critères d’évaluation sont:

  • originalité du sujet;
  • caractère novateur des résultats de recherche communiqués pour le champ de recherche;
  • clarté de la communication.
  • Le lauréat ou la lauréate du prix de la meilleure communication recevra en cadeau plusieurs ouvrages ainsi qu’un abonnement àCanadian Literature (Littérature canadienne). La revue soumettra par ailleurs l’article à un comité d’évaluation et l’affichera sur son site web.